twitter cup

Twitter Cup 2020 announced

Over the course of the next couple of weeks, The NWCFL will be running the Twitter Cup 2020 for all NWCFL clubs.

All 60 clubs within the NWCFL have been drawn into 15 groups of four clubs, with each team “playing” against each other on Twitter in a battle of votes to see who is the ultimate winner. 

This weekend will see the first of the group matches, followed by a midweek game, then the final group games next weekend. The matches start at 3 pm for weekend games and 7:45 pm for midweek games, and voting for each game will be open on our Twitter feed for 24 hours on for all the games.

Winners of each group – plus the best second-placed team with the most votes in the group stages – will go through to the Last 16 where it will be a straight knockout. The draw for the Last 16 and each subsequent round will be made LIVE on Twitter.

For all group matches the usual football rules apply, namely that it draws points for a win, one for a draw and none for a loss. Draws will only apply where both teams have exactly 50% of the vote each on Twitter. For the knockout stages, it’s a straight shoot out for the most votes. However, if there is a draw, an additional 3 hours extra time will be added to the vote to hopefully see somebody over the line.

Just so that you are aware of the schedule, the last 16 matches will take place on 21st/22nd April and the Quarter-Finals on 25th/26th April. The Semi-Final will then take place on 28th/29th April, followed by the final on Saturday 2nd May.

The groups are below, all drawn using a random number generator. Groups A-H will get us underway at 3.00 pm tomorrow on Twitter, with the rest starting on Sunday. Make sure to cast your votes on who you want to see through to the next round.

Good luck to all teams and remember to use the hashtag #NWCFLTwitterCup

Group A

Northwich Vics

New Mills


Sandbach United

Group B

Litherland REMYCA

Ashton Town

Abbey Hey

Abbey Hulton United

Group C

Vauxhall Motors

A.F.C. Liverpool

Squires Gate

Emley AFC

Group D

Cammell Laird 1907

FC Oswestry Town

Cleator Moor Celtic

Atherton LR

Group E

Ashton Athletic


Golcar United


Group F



Prestwich Heys


Group G

A.F.C. Blackpool

Whitchurch Alport

Cheadle Heath Nomads

Longridge Town

Group H

Maine Road

Ellesmere Rangers

AFC Darwen

Skelmersdale United

Group I


Wythenshawe Town

Stone Old Alleynians

Hanley Town

Group J

Congleton Town

Daisy Hill

St Martin’s


Group K


West Didsbury & Chorlton

Runcorn Town

Lower Breck

Group l


1874 Northwich



Group M

Alsager Town

Charnock Richard

Holker OB

Barnoldswick Town

Group N

Bacup Borough


Stockport Town

Winsford United

Group O


St. Helens Town

Cheadle Town

Wythenshawe Amateurs

Leave a Reply